Slow Rise

I feel it coming

Seeping in around me

Slowly filling up my space

As if my world has sprung a leak

So small that the water level

Is rising too slow to really notice

But it accumulates

And somehow it has reached my throat

I feel clenched

Heart-rate rising

At every obligation

The things required of me

Start to bubble up from below

Bursting and releasing noxious gases

So I turn my head

Struggle not to breath it all in

The little flutter of panic

The knowledge that this rising tide

Will engulf me soon

As I tilt my head back

Raising the level of my mouth

To ensure those extra moments

Of precious breath

 

Leave a Reply

