Dissonance

You speak, I listen

What I hear, however

Is not what you say

Nor is what you say

What you really mean

Further my experiences

Distort the words

Twisting them into barbs

Leaving me no choice

But to respond in fear

With defensive words

That do not properly convey

The meaning I intend

Which is further lost

As the words are twisted

By your experiences

A seemingly innocent circle

That folds in on itself

Distorting innocent pleas

Into cruel betrayals

And we wonder

Why communication is so hard

Leave a Reply

