Cornered

I don’t know why I keep fighting

I’m like a wounded animal

Cornered by my madness

Broken and bleeding 

But refusing to give up

Clawing and hissing

Spitting and biting

Desperately clinging

To a life I’m not sure is worth living

Yet each time I am struck down

I come up again

Screaming for relief

From someone or something

Collecting tools and weapons

Constantly coming up with new strategies

I will not give my madness the satisfaction

Of seeing me beaten

No matter how much it wants me to,

No matter how often I crave it,

I refuse to die

Leave a Reply

